NY Improv Program

level image Improv 101 through Improv 401 make up our core Improv Program. In these courses you will learn how to improvise game-based comedic scenes and the Long Form structure known as the "Harold".

The Improv Advanced Study Program is open to all students who pass Improv 401 and wish to continue taking classes. The program offers a wide variety of classes including ones on specific aspects of improv, drilling the Harold, and different forms.

This class introduces the basics of how to perform long-form improv. Students will learn how to use "yes-and," playing at the top of your intelligence, active listening and support to create comedic improvised scenes.

Level Day / Time Start Date Teacher Actions
Improv 101 ONLINE Fridays 1-3pm PT/4-6pm ET Jan 21st, 2022, 1:00pm Drew DiFonzo Marks Sold Out
Improv 101 ONLINE Saturdays 1-3pm PT/4-6pm ET Jan 22nd, 2022, 1:00pm Donald Chang Sold Out
Improv 101 ONLINE Sundays 11am-1pm PT/2-4pm ET Jan 23rd, 2022, 11:00am Todd Fasen Sold Out
Improv 101 ONLINE Tuesdays 7-9pm PT/10pm-12am ET Jan 25th, 2022, 7:00pm Cory P Willis Course Details
Improv 101 ONLINE Thursdays 5-7pm PT/8-10pm ET Jan 27th, 2022, 5:00pm Sarah Claspell Sold Out
Improv 101 ONLINE Saturdays 9-11am PT/12-2pm ET Jan 29th, 2022, 9:00am James III Course Details
Improv 101 ONLINE Tues-Fri 8-10am PT/11am-1pm ET Feb 1st, 2022, 8:00am INTENSIVE ONLINE Course Details
Improv 101 ONLINE Mon-Thurs 5-7pm PT/8-10pm ET Feb 7th, 2022, 5:00pm INTENSIVE ONLINE Course Details

This class introduces the concept of finding the Game of The Scene in long-form improv. The "game" is the cornerstone of the UCB improv philosophy - it roughly means being aware of what makes your scenes funny and focusing on it as the scene progresses.

Level Day / Time Start Date Teacher Actions
Improv 201 ONLINE Thursdays 7-9pm PT/10pm-12am ET JANUARY 6 Jan 6th, 2022, 7:00pm Betsy Stover Sold Out
Improv 201 ONLINE Tues-Fri 9-11am PT/12-2pm ET Jan 11th, 2022, 9:00am INTENSIVE ONLINE Sold Out
Improv 201 ONLINE Wednesdays 5-7pm PT/8-10pm ET Jan 12th, 2022, 5:00pm Shannon O'Neill Sold Out
Improv 201 ONLINE Saturdays 1-3pm PT/4-6pm ET Jan 22nd, 2022, 1:00pm Mike Leffingwell Sold Out
Improv 201 ONLINE Mondays 4-6pm PT/7-9pm ET Jan 31st, 2022, 4:00pm Donald Chang Sold Out
Improv 201 ONLINE Tues-Fri 7-9am PT/10am-12pm ET Feb 1st, 2022, 7:00am INTENSIVE ONLINE Course Details

This class introduces the form called The Harold. In the Harold, performers improvise comedic scenes that connect to create one unified piece.

Level Day / Time Start Date Teacher Actions
Improv 301 ONLINE Wednesdays 4-6pm PT/7-9pm ET Jan 5th, 2022, 4:00pm Alex Berg Sold Out
Improv 301 ONLINE Saturdays 2-4pm PT/ 5-7pm ET Jan 8th, 2022, 2:00pm Aman Adumer In Session
Improv 301 ONLINE Sundays 12-2pm PT/3-5pm ET Jan 30th, 2022, 12:00pm Lydia Hensler Course Details
Improv 301 ONLINE Mondays 4-6pm PT/7-9pm ET Jan 31st, 2022, 4:00pm John Murray Course Details
Improv 301 ONLINE Tues & Thurs 3-5pm PT/6-8pm ET Feb 8th, 2022, 3:00pm Drew DiFonzo Marks Course Details

In this class, students continue to study the Harold. After successfull completing this class, they have completed the core improv program at the UCBT.

Level Day / Time Start Date Teacher Actions
Improv 401 ONLINE Thursdays 9-11am PT/12pm-2pm ET Jan 6th, 2022, 9:00am Shannon O'Neill Sold Out
Improv 401 ONLINE Saturdays 3-5pm PT/6-8pm ET Jan 22nd, 2022, 3:00pm Monika Smith Sold Out
Improv 401 ONLINE Sundays 12-2pm PT/3-5pm ET Feb 6th, 2022, 12:00pm Billy Merritt Course Details
No courses currently available in this level

The Advanced Study program is an application-only set of classes, designed for students who have completed the core curriculum and are ready to make a professional level of commitment to improv or sketch comedy, and are ready to perform at an advanced level.

Level Day / Time Start Date Teacher Actions
Advanced Study Improv ONLINE MONOSCENE Saturdays 10am-noon PT/1-3pm ET Jan 8th, 2022, 10:00am Billy Merritt In Session
Advanced Study Improv ONLINE FUN HAROLDS Sundays 12-2pm PT/3-5pm ET Jan 16th, 2022, 12:00pm Sarah Claspell In Session
Advanced Study Improv ONLINE DECONSTRUCTION Wednesdays 2-4pm PT/5-7pm ET Jan 19th, 2022, 2:00pm Shannon O'Neill Sold Out